Transfusion Medicine

The Department of Transfusion Medicine is a specialized medical department within a hospital or blood bank that is responsible for managing blood transfusion services. The main activities of the department include:


  1. 01. Collection and processing of blood and blood components (such as red blood cells, platelets, and plasma) from donors.
  2. 02. Testing of donated blood for transfusion-transmissible infections such as HIV, hepatitis B and C, and syphilis.
  3. 03. Blood component preparation and storage for transfusion to patients.
  4. 04. Management of transfusion reactions and adverse events.
  5. 05. Development and implementation of transfusion policies and guidelines.
  6. 06.Education and training of healthcare professionals on safe transfusion practices.


The department of Transfusion Medicine works closely with other departments in the hospital, such as the operating room, intensive care unit, and hemato-oncology, to ensure that patients receive the appropriate blood components for their specific medical needs. The department is staffed by specialized medical professionals including transfusion medicine specialists, medical technologists, and nurses.